Merit Award


The IMAP Physician Advocacy Merit Award seeks to give national recognition to two to three physicians annually for their commitments and accomplishments in the advocacy arena. This annual award includes a $10,000 gift intended to support their ongoing efforts in promoting and realizing the principles of civic engagement.

2012 Merit Award Winners Announced

We once again received many strong applications and intense competition for its Advocacy Merit Award program, and after much deliberation, has selected its 2012 Merit Award Winners, including two Honorable Mentions. IMAP will honor this year’s two Merit Award Winners at the Annual Advocacy Conference on December 6th & 7th.  

2012 Merit Award Winners:

Dipesh Navsaria, MPH, MSLIS, MD
Medical Director and Founder, Reach Out and Read Wisconsin
Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine


Shetal I. Shah, MD, FAAP  
Associate Professor, Pediatrics and Neonatal Medicine, Stony Brook Children’s Hospital


2012 Merit Award Honorable Mentions:

Charles S. Modlin, MD, MBA
Associate Professor of Surgery, Case Western University
Founder and Director, Minority Men’s Health Center

Rishi Manchanda, MD, MPS, AAHIVS
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics, Charles D. Drew University of Medicine and Science
President and Founder, Health Begins 

Please send any questions about the Merit Award to Kristy Blackwood at

** 2014 grant cycle is now closed **

Get Our Medical Professionalism Newsletter

Thank You for signing up for the IMAP News and Alerts.